Lytherus Book Club: The Girl at Midnight by Melissa Grey, part 1

0

Lytherus book club header may

OMFG I LOVE THIS BOOOOOK! I am so excited to be covering THE GIRL AT MIDNIGHT for the May Lytherus book club selection. This book completely blew me out of the water. Fantasy fans, people who love Laini Taylor’s DAUGHTER OF SMOKE AND BONE and Cassie Clare’s MORTAL INSTRUMENTS, run, don’t walk, to get this book.

This post will cover the first half of the book, things I noticed, speculations, all those goodies. But first, here’s the summary of the book:

GIRLMIDNIGHT_5_6For fans of Cassandra Clare’s City of Bones and Laini Taylor’s Daughter of Smoke & Bone, The Girl at Midnight is the story of a modern girl caught in an ancient war.
Beneath the streets of New York City live the Avicen, an ancient race of people with feathers for hair and magic running through their veins. Age-old enchantments keep them hidden from humans. All but one. Echo is a runaway pickpocket who survives by selling stolen treasures on the black market, and the Avicen are the only family she’s ever known.
Echo is clever and daring, and at times she can be brash, but above all else she’s fiercely loyal. So when a centuries-old war crests on the borders of her home, she decides it’s time to act.
Legend has it that there is a way to end the conflict once and for all: find the Firebird, a mythical entity believed to possess power the likes of which the world has never seen. It will be no easy task, though if life as a thief has taught Echo anything, it’s how to hunt down what she wants . . . and how to take it.
But some jobs aren’t as straightforward as they seem. And this one might just set the world on fire.

I love that this book is from different points of view. It’s been a trend in the books I’ve been reading recently, and I’m liking it more and more. I feel like I’m getting a more well-rounded story, which is cool. Also, there are people who are basically half-bird, and there are people who are basically part dragon. Interesting traits like feathers for hair and scales on the face. I absolutely adore the way the author created these beings, and I wish they were real, if I’m being honest.

Here are the main people and a bit about them:

Avicen and Draharin are enemies. Been fighting forever, kept it secret from the humans.

Echo- Main gal. Human. Pickpocket. Adopted into the Avicen (bird peeps) at a young age.

Ivy- Avicen. Echo’s best friend. Training to be a healer.

Caius- Drakharin. Royalty. Good heart.

Dorian- Draharin. Captain of the royal guard. Lost an eye fighting the Avicen. Secretly in love with Caius.

Tanith- Caius’s twin. Scary. Evil. Powerful. Loves fire.

Rowan- Echo’s hot birdie boyfriend. Good dude.

Ruby- In love with Rowan. Echo’s sworn enemy. Basically a scary bitch.

Jasper- Avicen. Arrogant. Hot. Thief. Works with Echo on occasion, so they’re sort of friends.

Basically where we leave off for part 1 is with the main group of characters on the run and in need of hiding. Echo takes them to a “friend” she knows, Jasper, and they hunker down in his loft. Talk about a place to break! I’m only half way through the book and not only is the suspense great, so much has already happened!

One of the best parts of this book so far is the treasure hunt aspect. Echo is looking for the magical Firebird, and she has clues like old maps and a locket. Caius joins in the hunt, and they form an uneasy alliance on the quest together. This part sort of reminded me of THE DAVINCI CODE, in the best possible way. I loved following the clues along with Echo.

Then of course there’s the interesting relationship between Echo and Caius. She’s human raised by the birds, the sworn enemy of the dragons. He’s the dragon prince. And yet, they’re both slowly starting to see past the pre-conceived prejudices they have known to the people underneath. Clearly something good is happening here, and I can’t wait to see how this plays out, especially since Echo is dating Rowan.

I’m also captivated by the relationship between Ivy and Dorian. Ivy is kidnapped by the Dragon people, and questioned by Dorian. Dorian, who is generally a really good soul, loses his tempter and basically beats her up. But then, once Echo frees her, they all have to work together on the trail of the Firebird. The tension is harsh and interesting, and I’m really curious to see how it plays out.

And then there’s Jasper. Feathers like a peacock. Gorgeous. Arrogant. Such a fun character! I have a feeling he’s going to play more in the second half of the book. And I’m also guessing we haven’t seen the end of Rowan and Ruby!

That’s a good summary for now. Stay tuned for our coverage of the¬†second half of the book at the end of the month. And don’t forget to submit your questions for the author!

Share.

About Author

Lauren Zurchin is a professional photographer, creator of the 'Beyond Words' author calendar, and a life-long book enthusiast. When not catching up on the latest YA titles, she can be found nerding out to birds and roadtripping across the US.

Comments are closed.